Trauma System Oversight & Management Committee Meeting Thursday, March 2, 2017 at 1:30 p.m.

Virginia Public Safety Training Center 7093 Broad Neck Road Hanover, VA 23069

Agenda

Vision – The Trauma System Oversight and Management Committee will collaborate to support a statewide inclusive trauma system through evaluation, planning, and performance improvement.

Mission – To advise the Virginia Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services with maintaining an inclusive system that ensures when the severity and incidence of trauma cannot be decreased, that all injured person within the Commonwealth have rapid access to optimal, equitable, efficient specialized trauma care to prevent further disability utilizing a public health approach.

Core Objectives

Advise the Virginia Department of Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services on matters relating to:

- 1. Maintaining a process for designation of hospitals as trauma centers (§ 32.1-111.3:A.10)
- 2. Maintaining a statewide pre-hospital and inter-hospital trauma triage plan (§ 32.1-111.3:19.B)
- 3. Maintaining a performance improvement process that supports the trauma center designation process, trauma triage plan, and improves trauma care throughout and Virginia. (§ 32.1-111.3:B.3)

(The Vision, Mission, and Core Objectives were created during the process to revise the <u>August 13, 2010 EMS</u> Advisory Board Bylaws)

- I. Call Meeting to Order 1:30 pm
- II. Approval of the Agenda < Action Item>
- III. Approval of the December 1, 2016 Minutes < Action Item>
- IV. Chair Report (Dr. Michel Aboutanos)
- V. Performance Improvement Committee Update (Dr. Calland)
- VI. Trauma Program Managers Update (Ms. Wright)
- VII. Trauma Center Updates- please submit electronically to be distributed at the meeting
- VIII. Trauma System Plan Task Force Update (Dr. Aboutanos/Dr. Ryan)
 - IX. VA COT Committee Update (Dr. Calland)
 - X. Medical Direction Committee Update (Dr. McLeod)

- XI. OEMS Update (Gary Brown)
 - a) Trauma Fund Update
 - b) General Assembly Update
- XII. Old/Unfinished Business
- XIII. New Business
- XIV. Public Comment
- XV. Adjourn

"In the spirit of Collegiality and Professionalism, please be mindful of any information obtained and shared in the meeting that could be sensitive to an individual or an institution." (2014, VSSTF)

2017 Meeting Schedule (Save the Date) **Full Committee Meetings:**

- Thursday, June 1, 2017
- Thursday, September 7, 2017
- Thursday, December 7, 2017

Informational Links:

TSO&MC Past Minutes (search "trauma system")

Trauma Center Fund

Trauma Center Criteria Revision Wiki page

EMS Regulations (revised 10/2012)

- Section 390 Destination to specialty care centers
- Section 1140 Provision of Patient Care Documentation
- Section 2680 Regional Trauma Triage Plan

Committee Composition:

Seat/Representing	Named Member	Affiliation	Term Ends
Chair (EMS Advisory Board Member)	Michel Aboutanos	VCU Health System	n/a
Level I Designated Trauma Center	Dr. Forest Calland	UVA	Sept. 2018
Level I Designated Trauma Center	Dr. T.J. Novosel	Sentara Norfolk General	Sept. 2018
Level I Designated Trauma Center	Dr. Margaret Griffen	Inova Fairfax	Sept. 2018
Level I Designated Trauma Center (TPM)	Andi Wright	Carilion Roanoke Memorial	Sept. 2018
Level I Designated Trauma Center (Burn Surg.)	Dr. Michael Feldman	VCU Health System	Sept. 2018
Level II Designated Trauma Center	Lou Ann Miller	Riverside Regional	Sept. 2017*
Level II Designated Trauma Center	Lisa Wells	Winchester Medical Center	Sept. 2019*
Level III Designated Trauma Center	Dr. Keith Stephenson	Carilion New River Valley	June 2019*

Level III Designated Trauma Center	Emory Altizer	HCA - Montgomery Regional	Sept. 2017*
Hospital (non-trauma center)	Anne Hunt	Danville Regional Medical Ctr.	June 2019*
Citizen rep. (consumer/trauma survivor)	Susan Watkins		Aug. 2019*
Emergency Physician	Dr. Scott Hickey	ACEP	April 2017 *
EMS provider representative (non-specific affiliation)	Sid Bingley	Carilion, Blacksburg RS	Sept. 2018
Pediatric surgeon	Dr. Shawn Safford	Carilion Roanoke Memorial	Sept. 2018

^{*} Eligible for second term (2 years)

